Cranberry Scones With Lemon Glaze

003
    Well it’s the beginning of a new month and as always at the beginning of a new month I feel the need to try to make it the best of the year. To accomplish more than ever and to be productive with my time. I’ve been wanting to try out this scone recipe for a long time now and thought this morning I’d give it a shot. I was very surprised at how easy and quickly they came together. I worked briefly at a cafe that made fresh scones every morning, paired with roasted fruit and heavy whipped cream. That was my favorite dessert! Since I’ve left there I’ve still been craving scones. This recipe knocked my socks off and dare I say it were better than the cafe scones.
006

Ingredients:
– 2 cup all-purpose flour
– 2/3 cup fresh or frozen cranberries (dried would probobly work fine too)
– 1 tbsp baking powder (Yes a whole whopping tablespoon. Trust me.)
– 1/4 tsp baking soda
– 1/4 tsp table salt
– 1/4 cup sugar
– 1 egg
– 1 cup buttermilk
– 1/3 cup butter, melted

TO MAKE BUTTERMILK: Mix 1 tbsp lemon juice + milk to make 1 cup & let stand for 10 minutes = 1 cup buttermilk

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400ºF. Coat a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray.
2. In a large bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and sugar; mix well and set aside.In another bowl, whisk together egg, buttermilk and melted butter. Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients until just combined; fold in cranberries.
3. Drop 12 equal two-inch mounds of batter on prepared baking sheet about 1-inch apart. Bake until tops just start to turn golden, about 14-16 minutes.

010

Additional:
-I roasted two apples and a couple handfuls of frozen cranberries for 35 minutes at 400ºF (best if roasted on parchment paper to save yourself a sticky mess later).
-For the lemon glaze I mixed 1/3 cup icing sugar with a couple tablespoons of lemon juice. I like the consistancy to be a bit runny but not too watery. I drizzled it over the scones as I waited (impatiently) for them to cool.
Enjoy!
-Cassandra

 

Leave a Reply

