From A Cabin Up North

         “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived. I did not wish to live what was not life, living is so dear; nor did I wish to practise resignation, unless it was quite necessary. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to live so sturdily and Spartan-like as to put to rout all that was not life, to cut a broad swath and shave close, to drive life into a corner, and reduce it to its lowest terms.”
Henry David Thoreau, Walden: Or, Life in the woods

003
Picture taken of our view from the front of the cabin.

   I’ve decided to get into the (big) world of blogging. I’ve created this space to be a place where I can share my day to day adventures and projects. In the summer of 2013 my partner and I decided to build a cabin in the woods, dreaming of an untouched peice of remote wilderness. 

    Our plan was to find some secret eden to build in to avoid paying for the land and squat. This didn’t work out because anywhere you go in the north your always trespassing on somebodies trapline. Discouraged we went searching for a cheap trapline or some cheap land off the beaten path. We ended up buying 11.2 acres and began building our dream cabin.

 

010Taken right after we had finished pouring the concrete into our sauna tubes.

We worked hard everyday on the cabin hoping to have it finished before the snow started to fly. The dimensions of the cabin are 18 feet by 24 feet, and will one day have a half loft in the upper level. We are planning to do many additions and outbuildings and are searching for many vintage items and materials to use in the construction of the cabin. It is almost November now and we are living in it, though there is no running water, electricty, or heat (for only a few more days!) and there won’t be.

005From the day we stood the walls of our cabin.

    We are planning on one day using solar panels for electricity so we did have the cabin wired in. We are about 35-40 minutes from the closest town and are enjoying living out our dream. We have two dogs, two farm cats, and ten laying chickens (for now… ). Were hoping next spring to have a 1/2 acre garden planted and fenced off with many many more chickens. We have so many ideas for our land (and more we hope to purchase!) that I felt that I needed a place to display our finished projects as well as sharing a bit of how it actually is to live self sufficiently.

027
The very cold and rainy day we put the tin on the roof.

We are without a wood-stove, running water (no outhouse yet either!) and have run out of funds to keep building. This has gotten us to thinking pretty outside the box. For example, we drive past an old site where a old barn collapsed whenever we drive to the nearest town. We found out who owned the old barn and got permission to use the barn wood as flooring for the cabin.

I started this blog in hopes to inspire others to venture off of the grid and build a new life for themselves. It is possible! Though like accomplishing any major goal or making any dream into a reality it is extremely hard work.

002Where were at now in regards to construction.

     I also want to share recipes, knitting & sewing patterns, and everything else in our day to day life. I am very excited to start sharing my life with you. 

– Cassandra

Leave a Reply

