Rosemary Balsamic Reduction New Years Day Pork Roast 

My holiday season has been a distracting catastrophe, that I’ve secretly loved.

I had planned to work – work on my cabin, my business, my crafty stock supplies. I planned to quilt, crochet and can my way to fulfillment.

Instead I loaded my truck with garbage bags of fabric and yarn, my best friend, our dogs and my chickens, drove four hours to another town. We slept in a motor-home in -10, went grocery shopping…drunk, had an anxiety attack over a poorly wrapped piece of porkloin that leaked porky juices onto my hands before scouring our way through Quesnel’s bars. We watched a new friend pirouette through my mother’s kitchen.. followed by the charleston. We dyed my roots and at one in the morning two days before Christmas flew down a steep snowy road on toboggans, spilling Stella all over ourselves gut laughing so hard that tears poured out of our eyes before crash landing into a powdery ditch, staring up at the almost full moon, rosy-cheeked with snow matted hair.

Sometimes life happens and it’s the memories made in those moments that we remember more than the whimsical crafty things we had planned to do.

The time we have is the time we make.

  Every New Years Day I decide to roast a ham. Every year. Only to find that I still hate ham. That no amount of recipe experimenting or hoisin sauce can mask the taste of dank ham in my mouth. This year I roasted a pork loin instead.

Rosemary Balsamic Reduction Pork Roast

serves 4  hungover 20 somethings

Potatoes:

-3 1/2 lbs mixed red & white potatoes, cut into thick fries

-sea salt, freshly ground pepper & olive oil

-1/3 cup butter, cubed

-a bunch of rosemary, leaves picked and chopped

-3 cloves garlic, crushed

-3 medium red onions, peeled and chunky chopped

-1 cup balsamic vinegar

Pork Loin:

-small bunch of rosemary, leaves picked and chopped

-2 tablespoons freshly ground fennel seeds

-1 boneless rolled pork

-olive oil

-3 cloves of garlic

-1 medium red onion, peeled and quartered

-2 sticks of celery, chopped on an angle

 

Preheat your bbq so the heat reaches 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

For the pork, scatter a handful of chopped rosemary leaves over a chopping board. Sprinkle over some salt and pepper and the ground fennel seeds. Get a large roasting pan and place it on a burner over a medium-high heat (my bbq has a burner attached to it). Pour in a little olive oil and place the pork in, fat side down.  After a few minutes, when the pork fat is light golden, turn it over and add the garlic cloves, onion, and celery to the pan. Place in the bbq checking on it a few times for about an hour. I take an empty roasting pan, flip it upside down and put on the bottom of my bbq, and then rest the pork pan on top of that, bringing the pork away from the direct heat mimicking a conventional oven.

Get another roasting pan, into which you can fit the potatoes, and heat it on the element. When hot, pour a glug of olive oil into it and add the butter, rosemary and garlic. Add the potatoes and toss them in all the flavors. Add the onions and all the balsamic vinegar and season with salt and pepper. Cook for 15 minutes on the burner to reduce the balsamic vinegar. Place the pan in the bbq and place the pork loin here to soak up some of the reduced balsamic vinegar. Roast for around 30 minutes, until the potatoes and onions are dark and sticky.

-Cassandra

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

